15 comments on “Happy 4th of July Art Journal Page

  1. Love the glittery finish and am all about the words! Uploaded page I just finished inspired by you at Instagram/chriso55550. Hope you like it.

  2. This is a very powerful page. I think you’re so right. We have a very long way to go but I have hope for the future. I only hope it will be a future we get to see.

  3. Thanks for including body size/shape in your list. Also can you tell me about India ink? Is it just calligraphy ink?

    • You’re welcome! I, myself, am a gentleman of large stature. India Ink is used for calligraphy, yes. It’s great because it reacts to water but is permanent (ish) when dry. And it’s cheap!

      • I think you’re a gentleman of adorable stature! I’ve been poking around the art journaling world for a couple of months now and you are my absolute favorite. I’ve always wanted to do this stuff but only considered myself “crafty” as in being able to do things with my hands like knitting. But watching your videos got me to realize you don’t have to be a pro painter to make beautiful things. I ended up making a really beautiful mixed media piece for a friend’s birthday a couple weeks ago that I’m pretty proud of and I’ve wrecked an old book trying to make an art journal out of it. The book doesn’t seem to be working very well but I’m just getting into this stuff so I keep reminding myself it’s just a place to experiement. I got a sketch book at Ocean State Job Lot yesterday and started on 3 pages last night. I’m enjoying using the sketch book a lot more. Something I thought I’d never do is buy a sketch book! Well anyway… thanks!

    • That’s awesome, Laura! If it makes you feel any better, I never thought I would own a sketch book or art journal, either. I was a scrapbooker at first and followed all of the rules with straight lines and grids and perfect circles, etc. I never even tore a piece of paper until I started getting into art journaling. Everything was measured and cut precisely. Art journaling has really opened my mind as to the way I see and use things. I just LOVE it! Thank you for the awesome compliment, by the way. You have no clue what it means to me knowing that people are out there CARING about what I do! You keep me going!

Leave a Reply

